By JP52DAD on Sunday, 24 April 2016
Posted in Beginners
Replies 7
Likes 1
Views 3.9K
Votes 0
We are about to take delivery of our new Motorhome, what are the essential pieces of kit we need to buy.....don't want to be tempted by the "must have" gadgets only to find we never use them. Would be very interested to hear people's suggestions on what we really need. TIA from two total novices.
Hello

Essential kit

1 Your own hose and fittings
2 Sat nav and maps
3 levelling blocks?
4 First Aid Kit
5 A basic tool kit

I would suggest that it is best to use your MH and then you will discover what you need as you go, rather than buy loads of stuff that you will never use. A lot will depend on how you intend to use you MH.

Have a couple of weekends away first

Spinner
·
7 years ago
·
1 Likes
·
0 Votes
·
0 Comments
·
I agree with Spinner, except maybe the sat nav being an essential.

However the most important thing to take with you is a relaxed, chilled out attitude, if anything is forgotten or goes wrong, it doesn't matter at all, you will make sure it doesn't go wrong or get forgotten again!

Best to just buy things as and when you decide you need them, get out and use it and see what you feel you need!
·
7 years ago
·
1 Likes
·
0 Votes
·
0 Comments
·
GAS - we spent a very chilly (freezing) night at Thetford one February night. The nice man who sold us our van kindly equipped it with two bottles. Failed to tell us they were practically empty.......Brrrr!
·
7 years ago
·
1 Likes
·
0 Votes
·
0 Comments
·
Hi
I'd go along with Tom & Spinner but agree the satnav is essetial for us. Our trips through France and Spain from aire to aire rely on the satnav getting us there easily without arguing over a map. For us the 2 x leisure batteries with 215Ah supported by a solar panel takes all the worries of losing power away.

It depends on how you intend using your motorhome and if campsites are your choice then needs are different as elec and facilities are available (at a price!)