Monday, 22 August 2016
  5 Replies
  3.1K Visits
Votes
Undo
  Subscribe
Hi
I am off to France in a couple of weeks for 6 weeks touring around the South of France. I have been caravanning for the last ten years but have just purchased my first motorhome. I have also bought the "All the Aires" book. Lots of info to take in. Is there an Aires etiquette? what are the do's and don'ts? Any tips, like, what time should you arrive so you get a space?
Any help would be gratefully accepted
Rate this post:
7 years ago
·
Votes
Undo
Hi Pirate Papy,

Aires etiquette? Yes and no, I would recommend that you observe what others do around you and do likewise :)

No camping, in that you're not supposed to put chairs etc out but see what others are doing.

Park with consideration so that you don't take up more than your space - in this instance don't follow the examples of others if they spread themselves out...

Arrival time, during busy times then early afternoon generally works for us. You'll frequently find late arrivals looking for space at 10pm or so.

Carry disinfectant wipes for water taps just in case someones been using it for cassette cleaning.

I'm sure others will have more advice for you.

You could also check all the Aires listed on Club Motorhome as many of them contain real feedback, photos and videos which all help with your planning.

Happy travels :)

If it ain't broke..... Don't fix it!

7 years ago
·
Votes
Undo
Hi Pirate Papy

At the time of year that you are going things shouldn't be to busy, However, best arrival time is often no later than 4pm for popular Aires.

As I am sure others may tell you camping activities, ie tables and chairs out, is not recommended/ tolerated, however this can very and there will probably be a few Dutch or Germans doing this whatever. The biggy is fill up with your own hose, as what often happens is the drinking water tap usually ends up in someones toilet cassette. If it is busy be prepared for some close neighbours.